Third K. H. Kuo Summer School of Electron Microscopy and Crystallography

International Workshop of 3D Molecular Imaging


by Cryo-Electron Microscopy


Institute of Biophysics, Chinese Academy of Sciences, Beijing, China

August 8 - 12, 2010

Workshop Place
Scientific Topics
Invited Speakers
About School Series


Travel Fellowships for Students:

    As a summer school sponsored by the International Union of crystallography (IUCr), we observe IUCr's basic policy of non-discrimination and affirm the right and freedom of scientists to associate in international scientific activity without regard to such factors as citizenship, religion, creed, political stance, ethnic origin, race, color, language, age or sex.

   Supported by a generous grant from the International Union of Crystallography (IUCr), the summer school will provide twelve IUCr Young Scientist Travel Fellowships of ~US$250 each to selected young scientists. According to IUCr's policy, eligible candidates need to be graduate students or post-doctoral fellows not older than 30 years (35 for special cases). In addition, the registration fees of the fellowship winners will be reduced by half. If you are interested in applying for such an award, please submit a fellowship application document to The selection of the awardees will be based on scientific merit and needs.


when you sent the fellowship application document to, please include the following content and compress them as one .tar file:

1. The recommend letter from your supervisor;

2. The application form which can be download from;

3. Your CV;

4. Your abstract.

All these four items are required for applying the fellowship. The deadline for applying this fellowship is May 15 2010. And applicants will be informed whether they are accepted by June 1st, 2010.


Announcement of the IUCr Travel Fellowships


The IUCr travel fellowships will provide every one applicant 400$ or 200$ to support her/his travel fee, which depending on the distance the applicant will travel to attend this workshop. And according to the applicants' research work, personal CV, their supervisors' recommendation letters and the principle that only one awardee in the same lab, the organization committee has chosen the following applicants to get the IUCr travel fellowships. 

Awardees of the IUCr Fellowships( The name are listed in alphabetical order):



Value of Award

Donghua Chen

Baylor College of Medicine, USA


Xiaoduo Dong

Sun Yat-Sen University, China


Sayaka Inukai

Kyoto University, Japan


Zhao Wang

Peking University, China; Baylor College of Medicine, USA


Weiping Wang

The Hong Kong University of Science and Technology, China


Li Zhu

Lanzhou University, China

Elmar Behrmann Max Plank Institute of Molecular Physiology, Germany      200$
Leifu Chang Tsinghua University, China      200$
Yongliang Jiang University of Science and Technology of China      200$